

Narrogin Senior High School

Issue 2 2020

'The Twenties' Annual Ball Celebrated at Narrogin Senior High school

This year the Year 12 students voted to celebrate the **2020s in true "Roaring Twenties" style at their final** school Ball. Prefects and Ball Committee worked hard throughout the early weeks of Term One to create a magical Roaring Twenties atmosphere at the Narrogin Town Hall.

A large crowd of onlookers watched as students arrived on Federal Street walking the red carpet to the sounds of Jazz music from that era being played by the Narrogin SHS Jazz Quartet, led by Music Teacher Blake Howieson.

The hall was decorated to theme and a Year 10 dance troupe led by dance teacher Ms Kayla Stokes dressed in flapper costume commenced the **evening by dancing a "Twenties" style Jazz** Charlston for the Year 11 and 12 guests.

Students, who were waited on by a Year 10 group of Wait Staff enjoyed a two course meal provided by CH Foods from Yealering and danced the night away to the music from DJ Paul.

Several awards were presented by the prefects to close the evening, with Abbi Battley and Jeremy Ugle being awarded Belle and Beau of the ball for 2020.

Prefects would like to thank students, staff, parents, Year 10 students and the wider community for their ongoing support of this event.

> Mrs Susan Castle Student Events Co-ordinator

Belle and Beau Abbi Battley & Jeremy Ugle

Advance with Integrity | Responsibility - Respect - Tolerance

























HIGH SCHOOL HIGHLIGHTS



































Ξ

Bushfire Excursion







Team Geography set off to the Perth Hills Discovery Centre to learn about Bushfire Hazard management in Term One.

They completed fieldwork and measured fuel load, canopy cover and slope and determined the area's risk to bushfires.

Prescribed burning and how this is used as a mitigation strategy was the focus of the trip where students learnt about the many benefits that fire can have for the landscape.

By Miss Donavon



Jacob Mulcahy modelling the Leavers Jumper for 2020

Leavers Gear for 2020





This year's prefect Chanté Kickett was asked to design the Indigenous Artwork that is inset into Leavers Shirt.



Chanté Kickett



...to the following students for receiving a Merit Certificate at Year Group meetings in March

YEAR 7

Hannah Cronin Emma Graham Kate Cousins Oliver Draper Zarlie Perkins	Tabitha Pederick Riley Thorn Desiree Baker Jaxon Taylor John Riley	Devin Thorn George Kilpatrick Logan Batt Jai Harcourt Heidi Ackland EAR 8	Lily Spencer Justice Dale Davan Chaplin Campbell Leeson Tammy Kulker
Trazine Farmer Taya Garlett Kayla George Tania Bolton Asha Slawinski Rhys Smith Taylor Mutton	Hayley Page George Wright Aniela Turner-Reid Tyler Kickett Grace Mulchay Claire Spooner Jacinta Thornton	Shawn Lewis Kelsey Berry Kaidee Marsh Euan Macdonald April Gilmore Joshua Morrison Alannah Culbert EAR 9	Ryan Johnson Cooper Burrow-Hallett Lilli Beresford Ella Borthwick Terry-Leigh Enslin
Jacob Spencer Kandra Pense Billyana Craig Leila Pederick Makenna Batt	Hanna Jagan Jacob O'Farrell Ethan Johnson Amira Schmid Tenisha Bingham	Petra Narwastu Makayla Beary Jessica-Rose Insch Georgia Harrington Thomas Ramshaw AR 10	Kandra Pense Joseph Pahit Shannelle Taylor Emily Lazenby
Charlotte Barrett Mitchell Whillier Zachary Rogers-Bouffler Dakota Ahrens Cohen Sheridan Courtney Dewing	Tahlia Baxter Kaleb Bushby Blair Kemp Jayke Lazenby Krosby Readhead Heath Turner-Reid Jed Harcourt Marcie Smith	Amy Mulcahy Denzal Turner Emeline Niyokwizigira Tabitha Watson Marcel Corasaniti Cejay Hill Charlee Morrison Shontae Jetta AR 11	Grace van de Velde Kathryn Windsor Maddison Turner Rhys Trefort Jayke Lazenby Tristan Vitalone Tyler Murphy Cooper Haughie
Eliza Coppock Nicky Brown Cade Moore Atea Ogier Tahlia Edge	Brooklyn Hohipuha Logan Swadling Jayeisha Ford Ingrid Tipton Layla Hart YE	Nikota Scholz Katelyn Beard Abby Nottle Reilly Blechynden Chanel Bowey	Shaylee Annear Kristina Praetz Rohan Annear
Damon Penny Imogen Morgan Caitlynn Blechynden Maddison West Piper Edwards	Chloe Screaigh Oswald Manzanilla Aimee Curtis Jacob Mulcahy Emily Watson	Chant é Kickett Chloe Turnock Holly Crane Lexie Hall Caleb McBlane	Kallie Barrett Damien Robertson Angus Perkins
HIGH SCHOOL HIGHLIGHTS		Page 5	